Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
juellz_72

Pimples bigger and stronger

hi guys, i'm new here so sorry if this topic has already been discussed.

i have been using dan's regime for nearly 3 years now. the first year was great, totally clear. the second year was fine as well but i would have an odd pimple occasionally but i would just spot treat it with bp. this year got trickier, i developed sweat pimples on my forehead that i have never had before and everytime i did get a pimple it was bigger and a lot thicker than i ever had. it was like my skin was getting used to bp and it was fighting back. the pimples were so big that they would leave a crater-like scar for months!

mind you, i have never changed my products that i use. which is cetaphil cleanser, bp, cetaphil moisturiser and a bp oxy concealer for breakouts for these years. only suddenly, my skin has been 'rejecting' it.

my questions are after a while, can your skin get use to bp 2.5% and 'fight back'? should i move to 5%? and is this normal? am i the only one who's experiencing this? and how long does this regime recommend us to use for?

thanks for the help!

From the FAQs:

Q: Will my skin become resistant to the beneficial effect of BP?

A: Propionibacterium Acnes (P. Acnes), the bacteria in acne lesions, can not survive in the presence of oxygen. BP creates oxygen. Therefore, it is physically impossible for this bacteria to develop a resistance. If the Regimen works at first, it should always work.

oh that info made me feel a lot better now. i'm not sure what's changed so much in my life, but i'll have a look at those factors you pointed out.

thank you heaps!