Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Kairasa

My experience going off of Doxycycline.

Hello all. Considering the amount of information about antibiotics, both informational and misleading, I thought I would keep this miniature log of my gradualstop of the anti-biotic Doxycycline.

Some facts:

- I've been on it for 18 months.

- My dosage was 100mg twice a day. This seemed quite strong considering the other dosages I have read about for people half my size. (I'm 5'6 and around 114 lbs).

- I had moderate acne beforehand, but now have mild.

- I have been using Duac gel for 2 years now as a spot treatment in the mornings and Differin .1% for almost a year at night.

- I wash with Cetaphil daily facial wash (not the gentle version). I moisturize with a 50/50 mixture of Cetaphil moisturizing cream and 100% Aloe Vera gel.

My strategy to completely stop this antibiotic:

I have given myself one month. This means 14 days of lowering the dose to once a day (100mg insted of 200mg). Because I forgot to order probiotics I am eating a cup of yogurt every evening, to hopefully replenish my body with good bacteria.

After the first two weeks, I will be taking doxy every other night, and continuing the yogurt use. I have also started taking 1000mg of Vitamin C once a day, because my immune health isn't as great as it could be.

Anyways, I thought this mini-log would be handy for those of you considering going off your anti biotics. Honestly, if I knew now what I knew then, I wouldn't of went on them. I had no adverse side effects, but it's not a long term solution, and I realize that now.

Days 1-3

So far, so good. It's too early to tell if I am going to have a breakout or not. Let's see what happens from here!

Thank you, thank you, thank you, for creating this thread!