Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
bkm91

New to Accutane - a few questions

Hi all.

I've just begun taking 40mg of Accutane for my moderately bad acne (some smaller cysts, but nothing extremely severe). I believe today was my sixth day. I'm new to Accutane and I just had a few questions about what to expect. When can I expect the dreaded initial breakout? I've read on here from many people that they had cysts beneath the skin that were forced upwards. How can I tell if I have cysts beneath my skin that could possibly pop up? I haven't yet noticed any difference since starting, obviously, except for the fact that my lips have begun to get a bit dry, not severe, but just enough to irritate me. Which leads to my next question. When on average do the lips and skin start to really dry out?

I also have another question. When my derm prescribed it to me, he told me to immediately stop using the topical medicines, so I haven't used them for a week now. I'm afraid of irritating my face when I wash it after it becomes more sensitive. What exactly should I use?

Guest tofupup

I took accutane twice over the course of 11 years for moderate (but scarring) acne. Both times I was on 40 mg/day, and neither time did I experience the dreaded Initial Breakout.

My lips became horribly snake-like (peeling like snakeskin) and my face also got really bright lobster red for a while, but that was it. After my face adjusted, these side effects were totally dealabe with.

I (like most others I've heard from) used Aquaphor on lips, Cetaphil cleanser, and Cerave/Aveeno moisturizer in day and Cetaphil cream at night.

Hopefully since you're on such a relatively low dose like me, you also won't get the horrible IB that seems to torture nearly everyone else on this list.

I was using BP on my face while on tane for a month, I am really interested to know if this needs to stop or not.