Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

hi all,

I'm a newbie here, though certainly NOT new to acne. i've had it since I was 11 or some ridiculous age like that. I haven't had clear skin since i was under 10!!! I just turned 21. I've spent thousands and thousands of dollars over the years trying to find anything that worked. i've found nothing. it got pretty bad when i was 13 but then simmered down for a few years (though was still pretty bad!). but now, its back at a pretty bad level and i'm really not able to cope with it emotionally anymore. im just sick of having this crap on my face.

anyways, when i was younger i was too embarrassed to go to the derm beacuse.... i was an idiot. but i've been going to a derm for almost a year now and he's just given me these crap creams such as retin-A and benzoyl peroxide stuff... it just dries me out really bad and hes made me stay on it for many many months.. like 6... and if anything my skin has gotten worse with breakouts... i get tons of tiny ones now on my forehead and before i never did.... anyways i really just want to *hopefully* end it all with accutane. so i'm going to ask him at my appointment to start up on it.

i've read so many accutane journals of others, beacuse before i was too scared to really seriously consider taking it. now i realize there isn't any other option. its my last resort. i've tried everything.

my next appointment is oct.31 which unfortunately isn't for a while but there's not many derms in my city and he gets booked up very very fast.

he's not the nicest man in the world. but honestly, it would take many many months to get an appointment with another derm. i mentioned accutane before but he wanted to try me on creams and antibiotics first.