Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

To anyone who finds themselves here...hey!

Today is the start of a 5 month course with Accutane (well Sotret). I actually just popped my first pill a short while ago.

A little bit of background on myself:

I just turned 20 and I've had acne since I was about 13 or 14. Its gotten to be severely moderate....not sure if that makes much sense....definitely moderate..not severe aka cystic. Its pretty widespread, covering my face, back, shoulders and chest. I've been considering taking Accutane for a couple years now but the side effects always scared me off. But I've been doing a lot of thinking lately and I decided that I can't let acne run my life anymore. I can't tell you how many times I've sat at home avoiding friends because of how I felt about my skin. And the relationships I've let fall through the cracks. It sucks when girls are really into you..and you are

really into them..but you avoid seeing them because of how you feel about yourself. But enough of feeling sorry for myself......in some ways I'm happy things turned out this way...I've definitely become a better person because of it.

Getting back on topic....I'm going to track my experience/progress with Accutane here. Feel free to comment/say hi..I love making new friends! I'll update a few times a week. For all those who can relate....stay strong.

"There are two primary choices in life: to accept conditions as they exist, or accept the responsibility for changing them."

So this Sunday will be the two week mark. And things have already gotten worse-surprise, surprise. I've been breaking out in whiteheads all around my mouth and chin. Other than that my face is pretty red and my lips are starting to get crazy chapped.