Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Shel

Newbie on doxy/benzaclin/retin-A micro

Hello, I am new to acne.org. I am a 31-year-old woman who has always struggled with whiteheads (that usually become inflamed cysts around the time of my monthly cycle) on my chin and around my mouth. For the past month, however, my chin has erupted into several whiteheads (or maybe milia?) and cysts. During the flareup, I was under a lot of stress (the acne did not help). I had also radically changed my diet to eat healthier and had lost a lot of weight. I also started taking a multivitamin over a month ago with iodine in it, as well as eating protein bars with iodine in it. Maybe that didn't help the issue? I stopped using both of these.

Anyway, I went to a derm a little over a week ago, because my acne has made me depressed, lowered my self-esteem, and put a strain on my social life. She prescribed 50 mg of doxy twice a day. In the A.M., I wash with Cetaphil cleanser, apply a pea-size amount of benzaclin, moisturize with Cetaphil, and apply oil-free Clinique makeup. In the P.M., I wash with Cetaphil and apply a pea-size amount of retin-A micro every other night (until my face can tolerate the medicine...then maybe every night). I have been experiencing some dryness, flakiness, and slight peeling (I may have overdone it with the benzaclin on the chin).

Can anyone tell me if they were on a similar regime and had success? Or tell me what to expect? Or give me tips for not allowing acne to take over my life? Thanks in advance. I appreciate any feedback...