Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
novembershadow

Is BP damage reversible? Worth stopping?

So yeah like many others I've found that BP is causing loads of dark, seemingly permanent hyperpigmentation marks...some up to 2 years old but most around 2-6 months. My question is, if I stop using the BP on these areas, will the marks fade significantly faster, or is the damage already done and at this point it won't make much difference? I've been using BP for a few years but started breaking out really badly 6 months ago and for the first time the marks seem to not be healing. I'm just hoping for some advice on the risks/benefits of stopping BP...I seem to hear mixed results...on one hand it does keep my breakouts from getting out of control, but then the marks from what I do get stick around forever. I've been trying to use less but I'm afraid of stopping it altogether...can anyone who's tried stopping BP tell me what to expect? I'm afraid I'll try stopping for like a week, break out horribly and then put on loads of BP to control it and have to deal with all the PIH from that. If I did stop I'd replace the BP with tea tree oil (which doesn't seem to work as well...sigh) and aloe gel to fade the red marks. Anyway that is my dilemma.