Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
pimplypear

article on cycstic acne - New England Journal of Medicine

Androgen excess in cystic acne

This is a really interesting article. It basically says that women and men with cystic acne have higher levels of testosterone in their blood.

"To lower dehydroepiandrosterone sulfate, dexamethasone was given to men, and dexamethasone or an oral contraceptive pill, Demulen (or both), was given to women. Of the patients treated for six months, 97 per cent of the women and 81 per cent of the men had resolution or marked improvement in their acne."

i'm a medical student so this makes sense to me, but if you're not this is what that translates to:

dehydroepiandrosterone sulfate is a testosterone that your adrenals make. when your pituitary sends a signal to your adrenals they make things like testosterone and cortisol (the stress hormone). dexamethasone is cortisone. when you take cortisone in a pill, this tells your pituitary that there is enough cortisone, so it stops telling your adrenals to make testosterone and cortisone. thus, your testosterone levels fall.

other ways to make testosterone levels fall is to take spirolactone (an anti-testosterone) and for women to take birth control pills with estrogen in them (the ratio of estrogen:testosterone is very important in your body too).

If your doctor has not evaluated your free testosterone levels in your blood, print this article and ask them to order a blood test. Especiallly if you are female, do not soley rely on your derm to treat your cystic acne. go to your gynecologist (who is better versed in horomones).

I'm not trying to second-guess anyone's doctor here (hey, i'm not even one yet) but make yourself an informed patient. We do know what causes cystic acne...(since 1983 when this was published!!!)

As the NEJM says: