Notifications
Clear all

First time poster, help with skincare routine? Incorporating AHAs and BHAs

MemberMember
(@perkypianist)

Posted : 07/19/2018 1:32 pm

Hello! I am new to the site, and this is my first post. I'm fairly new to the skincare world, and I thought it would be a great idea to start adding in some AHA's and BHA's into my skincare routine. I'm only 24 but I wanted to start incorporating more anti-aging properties as a preventative. My skintype is acne prone and oily (I have a suspicion that it's only oily because of overuse of harsh products, though).

Up until this point, I had been using the cerave foaming facial cleanser, thayer's witch hazel toner, and clean and clear dual action moisturizer in the morning. My routine is the same at night except I use Pixi glow tonic as a toner instead of the thayer's.

So I've switched a few things around. Instead of the foaming facial cleanser from cerave, I'm trying out the hydrating cleanser to help my skin stay moisturized because I felt the foaming one was stripping it a bit. I recently picked up the pixi retinol tonic to replace my morning thayer's witch hazel with and using the glow tonic at night still. Is this a good routine? I am really new to acids and retinol use, so I really don't know how to go about implementing this into my routine. Also, since I am planning on adding a retinol, I figured I shouldn't use the clean and clear moisturizer anymore since it has salicylic acid in it, and I picked up the cerave moisturizer to use instead of that. Would I still be able to use salicylic acid in this routine, or would it be too much? I'm still acne prone, so I want to keep my acne at bay while also implementing anti-aging properties into my routine. If any one has any suggestions on what I can do for my routine I'd appreciate it! Thanks!

MemberMember
(@faroutbrusslesprout)

Posted : 07/20/2018 8:23 am