Notifications
Clear all

Never Giving Up

MemberMember
(@geekgirl13)

Posted : 08/31/2015 3:11 am

Hi everyone this is my first try at creating a 'personal log.' Seemed like a fun thing to do so here i go :)

About me and my acne -

Age 31. Started getting acne and redness on my face when i was 13 - but very mild. Acne gradually gotten worse and worse as i've gotten older. Pimples mainly on my chin and around my mouth - lovely - and redness/blackheads everywhere else but particularly my nose.

Tried it didn't work -

Accutane, birth control, antibiotics (forgot what they were called it was so long ago), various washes/creams from the chemist, weird herbal tonics from naturopaths.

What helps -

DIET!!! Although i don't necessarily believe diet is the root cause of acne, eating a healthy low sugar paleoish type of diet has significantly improved my skin. I eat mainly salads, vege, eggs, meat (chicken, fish etc.) I eat some fruit, nuts and legumes but try to minimise grains and dairy. And no 'junk' food/ processed food especially sugar!!!!!

Supplements i'm currently taking ate multi vitamin, fish oil (for omega 3), vit d, vit a, magnesium.

I've only been taking vit d for a couple of months and it has been amazing. Not a big change in my skin but it has improved my energy, mood and fixed these muscle aches i used to get in my legs.

What's new?

Even though diet has improved my skin i still get pimples, particularly 'that time of the month' (i hate you hormones) and it is difficult to b super strict with diet ALL the time (because people offer me tempting food and i'm so weak i give in) So i am still searching for a miracle cure :)

So 1 month ago i started taking estroblock (dim) and vitex. I had tried estroblock before and it helped only a little but thought i would give it another go with the vitex to balance my hormones.