Notifications
Clear all

Diary Of A Three-Pronged Attack: My Mission To Get Clear Skin And Avoid Roaccutane!

MemberMember
(@moonlitriver)

Posted : 07/28/2013 6:44 am

So I've never kept my own log on here but having read some other people's and found them really helpful for investigating different treatments I decided it was time I started my own in case it might help someone else in the same way! Unfortunately this initial post is going to end up being quite long but after that I will just be doing short updates on my progress. Wish me luck!

About Me

I'm a 21-year-old female university student. I've had moderate acne constantly since the age of 13 without a single clear day in 8 years. In the past 4-5 months I've developed severe cystic acne which has been incredibly painful and made my face look an absolute state. I'm now on a mission to clear it. I have a dermatology appointment on 20th September after my doctor referred me because she said I'd be eligible for treatment with Isotretinoin (Roaccutane/Accutane). However, because of the side effects I am keen to avoid this treatment if at all possible.

Treatments I've Previously Tried

Benzoyl Peroxide 2.5%

Differin (Adapalene 0.1%)

Duac (Benzoyl Peroxide 5%, Clindamycin Phosphate 1%)

Freederm Treatment Gel (Nicotinamide 4%)

Salicylic Acid

Witch Hazel

Tea Tree Oil

Sulfur Products

Aloe Vera

Lemon Juice

Various Diet and Lifestyle Changes

Current Treatment Plan

Co-Cyprindiol (Dianette)

Lymecycline tablets (408mg daily)

Epiduo (Benzoyl Peroxide 2.5%, Adapalene 0.1%)

State of Skin Prior to Treatment

Severe cystic acne. We're talking at least 10 cysts buried really deep in the skin plus masses of whiteheads. My chin, forehead and nose had become totally misshapen. My lips had swollen up and my eyes had gone puffy. My glands were severely swollen and painful. Whole face red, inflamed, covered in deep solid lumps, and throbbing with pain to the extent that it was preventing me from sleeping.