Notifications
Clear all

Should I Exfoliate?

MemberMember
(@frenchie86)

Posted : 09/24/2013 8:47 am

I'm a 27 yo female who has been suffering from moderate acne, oily skin and mild hirsutism out of the blue for the past 6 months, it's ruining my life.

I'm new to acne, I hate it. I use differin, doxycycline and dianette but so far it's made it worse!

My question is: is exfoliating a good idea when suffering from acne?

Thanks

MemberMember
(@samlam)

Posted : 10/15/2013 9:22 pm

No, H# no. I've been told by everyone who thinks they know that "you need to exfoliate to remove the dead skin from your skin." Including my derm. In my experience, the only thing exfoliating does is irritate skin and stimulate pores to produce more oil. Turns out, my problem was too much irritation. I stopped using anything drying including benzoyl peroxide, retin-a, sodium lauryl sulfate, and most importantly, any scrubbing cleansers. No rubbing with a washcloth. Dab dry only. I even only spray my toner on, no cotton pads. Without the irritated skin, there was no need to exfoliate. Olive oil massage if skin is dry or flaky. Massage for 2-5 minutes, hold a hot wet washcloth over skin for 30 seconds, dab off excess oil, then cleanse normally, followed by viamin c toner for repair and a few (4) drops of jojoba. By replacing any lost oil on the surface with jojoba, your skin will not overreact by producing too much oil. Lose the chemicals, lose the irritation. Plus of course, a healthy, anti-inflammatory diet, low sugar, with lots of water is essential to keep skin glowing.

MemberMember
(@calumma)

Posted : 10/16/2013 2:52 am

The combination of your symptoms is classical for hormone related issues. So you should get your hormones checked and I bet spironolactone would help you.

Any physical peeling irritated my skin too much, but I love the BHA, it makes the skin incredibly soft and clear.

I

MemberMember
(@frenchie86)

Posted : 10/16/2013 2:56 am