Notifications
Clear all

Post Accutane - Hair Shedding in Women

MemberMember
(@lapa1052)

Posted : 10/26/2016 12:05 am

I am a 26 year old female. I was on Accutane 60 mg (I'm 5'6 130 lbs) for 6 months, ending this past July. I had the normal annoying side-effects (sensitive skin, itchy eyes) but my hair was wonderful, clean, and full until my last week of treatment, I starting noticeably shedding a LOT of hair. Basically what I've gathered is that Accutane's intensity "shocks" your hair follicles and this essentially stresses your hair and causes it to go into the telogen phase (or resting phase before it falls) MUCH sooner that it is supposed to. My derm told me that I have TE. I have been shedding roughly 500 hairs a day for the past 3 months. More shedding occurs on days that I shower, which I try to wash every 5 days (that's awful though). It has not slowed down. My hair is noticeably thinner to me and others. My part has always had a cowlick on the back of my head, but has never been a problem for me because the weight of my hair kept it under control. But because it has thinned so much, the cowlick doesn't have enough hair anymore to keep it from going crazy so basically I have a big lightening strike part down the back of my head. It's devastating, it's terrifying, I feel unattractive, and it is becoming difficult to stay hopeful. I notice everyone's hair now like I never have before; so many women are practically bald. I do not want to go through that. I scour the internet daily for people who are going through this as well. It's surprisingly difficult to find hopeful stories about this, specifically from accutane. I am taking biotin, and drinking tons of water. I worry about taking too many supplements. I feel like I see some re-growth, only because I have quite a few fly aways. However my hair is shedding greatly still so some flyaways are not encouraginw hen I'm still losing so much.