Notifications
Clear all

Male Hormonal Body Acne--Need Help!

MemberMember
(@tpaine03)

Posted : 04/29/2013 1:44 pm

I am a 20 year old student and a sufferer of male hormonal acne. In my young teens, I suffered from mild to moderate acne on my face (chin and t-zone) and had little acne on my body. I now have mild facial acne (a few blemishes on chin and jawline); however, my back and chest are plagued with acne. I have been to the derm, who diagnosed it as hormonal acne, immediately wanted to start me on accutane, although I was apprehensive to jump right to it because of the wide range of success and horror stories I've heard over the years. Has anyone else had any experience dealing with male hormonal body acne? Has anyone had success with accutane for controlling body acne like this? Really any input is much appreciated.

I have attached some pics to give you an idea of the severity. Thanks so much for just taking the time out of your day to read!

post-207694-0-14845900-1367261006_thumb.

post-207694-0-61602200-1367261009_thumb.

post-207694-0-44286900-1367261012_thumb.

post-207694-0-14845900-1367261006_thumb.

post-207694-0-61602200-1367261009_thumb.

post-207694-0-44286900-1367261012_thumb.

MemberMember
(@mrnegative)

Posted : 05/08/2013 5:04 pm

Immediately wanted to put you on Accutane? Was it because of the severity of everything or just the type of acne (hormonal). It doesn't seem like you have any cysts.

(@Anonymous)

Posted : 05/08/2013 5:21 pm

If your acne is hormonal accutane will do nothing for it in the long term. It will all come back after you finish your course,

I did a 7 month accutane course which cleared me up beautifully don't get me wrong. But 3 months later I was breaking out again and my face was in the process of going back to my pre accutane state.