Notifications
Clear all

Staph Infection On Chest

MemberMember
(@tbone2000)

Posted : 02/20/2013 10:26 pm

I had a biopsy done on some persistent, recurring lesions on my chest. The biopsy tested specifically for bacterial, viral, and fungal causes. The results came back that the lesions were being caused by a staph infection.

My doctor told me to use Hibiclens antiseptic wash in the shower. I have been using this for several months with zero effect on the lesions. Unfortunately, I am not able to see my doctor until May to seek a new course of treatment.

Are there any suggestions for some over the counter products that are available in the United States that I can use to treat the staph infection? I was thinking about trying Bactine, another antiseptic wash. Any other suggestions?

MemberMember
(@tom-busby)

Posted : 02/23/2013 5:53 pm

Topical 2% fusidic acid cream (aka Fudil or Fucidin) can be mail ordered from India or Thailand at a cost of about $50 for 20 grams, for your own use only. Fucidin is not sold in the USA, because it is bogged down in an attempt by one manufacturer, Cempra, to obtain a law from the US Congress whereby Cempra has 5-years of exclusivity to sell fusidic acid tablets. Other than big-pharmas profit-motive in the USA, Fucidin has an extremely good track record against bacterial infections worldwide since its introduction in 1962. In fact, it appears that Fucidin is the only topical drug effective against gram positive bacteria. (Gram positive bacteria are like staph bacteria, and are the only kind that you are likely to become infected with if you havent been hospitalized recently, because gram negative bacteria other than cholera are usually found only in hospitals.)

cid.oxfordjournals.org/content/52/suppl_7/S542.full.pdf

MemberMember
(@jmtm18017)

Posted : 03/03/2013 12:03 pm