Regimen Has Failed,...

Notifications
Clear all

Regimen Has Failed, What Now?

MemberMember
(@yisek)

Posted : 04/16/2013 6:14 am

Been on Regimen for 4 months now after having acne for 8 years. After the 3 month mark I found that the moisturiser was making my skin significantly worse, so as a few people suggested on another thread, I discontinued the use of the moisturiser. What I found was that my skin was not reacting to the BP at all (it was not flaking at all), so I went and purchased 10% BP from a local drug store. Even with 1.5 finger lengths of 10% BP, my skin remains slightly oily as if I had not put anything on it. My unique problem is likely due to the fact that I have been using BP twice per day topically for 8 years now. It was as if my skin has a complete resistance to BP, making the regimen completely ineffective.

I should also note that the regimen did work for the first month I was on it, my skin was very flaky, but improving significantly. It then levelled off and returned to its initial state within 2 weeks, with no reduction in severity or acne count. Additionally, the reason I tried 10% BP is because my skin only improves when it is peeling significantly, which a higher concentration of BP should encourage. I have followed every step of the regimen very closely, I know for a fact that I am doing it correctly, while substituting for 10% BP and no moisturiser.

I no longer have access to a doctor or dermatologist, so I cannot get any prescription medication, and I certainly do not have access to accutane. The regimen was my last hope and it seems to have failed me.

What can I do about this?

Edit: Something else I've noticed, the Cleanser does noticeably dry my skin out, yet the BP acts in such a way that it will actually re-moisturise my skin.

MemberMember
(@mfxfitness)

Posted : 04/16/2013 10:56 am