Notifications
Clear all

Paleo And Acne

MemberMember
(@jt91)

Posted : 05/19/2014 3:37 pm

Quick preface and background on my situation:

25 year old male. 6'0" 175lbs. Exercise regularly (3 days of lifting and usually 2-3 days of cardio). I've been dealing with moderate acne for close to 10 years. I've had periods of success, but those are always temporary. Having exhausted all medical options, except accutane, I've moved on to other methods.

Typically, I only get a pimple or two a week. Where I lack in quantity, I make up for it in severity. 75% of pimples I get are very inflammed and large. Most eventually come to a head, but I will get the occasional cyst that lasts months. The worst part is the severe post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation that occurs after 90% of my pimples.

My diet has slowly evolved for the better since I graduated college 3 years ago. I decided to give paleo a shot. Like I said, I already ate pretty healthy pre-paleo, so I wouldn't say I'm eating a lot more of anything (so I wouldn't attribute this to an increase in egg consumption, for example). I'm just eating less carbs and legumes. A week into paleo, I've noticed a bit of a change:

• I've broken out a bit more than usual.
  • However, most of the pimples are miniscule bumps that only I can probably see.
  • The few pimples I have seem to:
    • Be smaller than my standard pre-paleo pimple.
    • Come to a head faster
    • Go down faster
  • Still very inflammed and red.
  • My skin is considerably less oily at the end of my workday.

While the larger amount of acne than usual certainly has me pretty freaked out, I am intrigued by the change in my pimples.

Has anyone else suffered from a initial paleo breakout? How does it typically go from your first week to first month to first year?

MemberMember
(@jt91)

Posted : 05/20/2014 2:13 pm

Anyone?

MemberMember
(@lovelyplot)

Posted : 05/21/2014 9:18 am