Notifications
Clear all

Need Some Advice About Moving Away From Chemicals. (Pic)

MemberMember
(@vw02)

Posted : 09/15/2013 2:47 pm

Hello everyone, thanks for taking a look in here.

I'm 26, I've had acne since I was 16, it's been up and down throughout the years. A year ago I made a serious change diet and skincare wise. I've been eating completely paleo since then. I stopped all antibiotics then, but went back on them for a couple months back in February because my acne was just not getting better.

Fast forward to today. I haven't taken an antibiotic in probably 4 months. I eat massive amounts of organic veggies, fruit, quinoa, and lean meats. I've been using Target's Up and Up 3 step cleanser for a couple months. It's your typical 2.5 BP wash, witch hazel based toner, and 2.5BP lotion but doesn't seem to harsh. Currently, my skin is the best it has been in years. It keeps getting better every couple weeks.

My question is, should I start ramping down the chemical cleansing regimen? I'm a HUGE believer in natural, organic everything and truly believe acne is internal, not external. BUT, I don't want to start going back in the other direction and I'm not quite sure what direction or "routine" to follow going forward.

I've read a ton on this forum and other places online about all sorts of natural skin care treatments. I do not want something high maintenance or somewhat ridiculous. Again, if acne is internal, you shouldn't need to lather your face with four steps of oil/products twice a day. Right now I'm thinking about diluting Dr. Bonner's Tea Tree Castle soap 30/70 and using that as a face wash once or twice a day.

Any suggestions? Face washes to try? Routines?

Sorry for any rambling, just trying to give as much background as possible. If anyone has any questions about paleo/caveman eating, feel free to ask.

Thanks!

Here's what a typical day looks like, some redness, old scars, and maybe one or two recent ones varying in size.