Notifications
Clear all

Experiences with therapy?

MemberMember
(@avalati)

Posted : 11/08/2017 10:21 pm

My acne has been increasingly destroying me physchologically and making me super depressed I'mthinking about if I should get a therapist or no... I've been avoiding it so far because 1)money 2)time 3)I feel kinda dumb going into therapy about skin :/? is that normal?

I have hormonal acne and Im pretty sure it appears based on my period cycle or stress. and I am a VERY stressed out person. I'm a student and I'm constantly working on homework and worrying about my grades to keep my scholarship. And I have a lot of hobbies I really want to keep up with too... I'm just a very stressed and anxiety filled person in general all the time which is definitely not good for my skin.
And as my skin has gotten horrendously worse over the past few years, it added a major source of stress. I have breakdowns over my skin pretty frequently, It's always on my mind, I'm always concious and stressed about it. It's making me very depressed constantly..

Since I'm so busy with school and stuff I only want to do therapy is it's really worth my time.... Venting about acne online and venting about it to someone who is physically looking at my face are very different... I'm very shy and anxious about that too..
I'm okay with being stressed and sad but I'm not okay with my skin because it's destroying me..
Have any of you gone to therapy and had it help with acne? Do you think therapy would genuinely help with my stress enough to a level that would physically actually lessen my acne?? Is it worth it??

MemberMember
(@ailaeshiz)

Posted : 11/08/2017 10:49 pm