x

Tretinoin (Retin-A, Retisol-A) reviews

Read or post reviews on thousands of acne products & treatments.

Tretinoin (Retin-A, Retisol-A)
3.5/5 - 1455 reviews
5 star
358 reviews
4 star
505 reviews
3 star
286 reviews
2 star
178 reviews
1 star
128 reviews

Write Your Review

Tretinoin (Retin-A, Retisol-A)

Ingredients


Active Ingredients:
Tretinoin (0.01%), Parsol MCX (7.5%) and Parsol 1789 (2%) SPF 15.

Inactive Ingredients:
Butylated hydroxytoluene, carbomer 934, cyclomethicone, diisopropyl adipate, glycerin, imidurea/parabens, octyldodecyl neopentanoate, light mineral oil, phenyl trimethicone, polysorbate 60, purified water USP, sodium hydroxide 10%, sorbitan monosterate, and stearyl alcohol.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

Tretinoin (Retin-A, Retisol-A)

Where to buy

Acne.org is not associated with this product. All proceeds from links go to charity.

[The prices listed above may change at any time and in some cases do not include shipping.]

Tretinoin (Retin-A, Retisol-A)

Did you find a problem with this item?


 Mark product as discontinued

 Flag an error in this listing

Definitely helps!
Reviewed on January 8, 2018

I’ve been using Tretinoin .025 for about 3-4 months now. I haven’t been consistently using it every night. Maybe 3 nights a week and other nights as a spot treatment.

But I must say, this cream is a little wonder cream isn’t it. Although I still get pimples on my face, this cream helps them dissolve into nothing after 1 or 2 days and nothing is left behind. The size of my pimples have been substantially smaller. And my scarring has cleared up a lot. Over all my complexion just looks a whole lots clearer and smoother. The reason I’m only giving this 3 stars is because is doesn’t actually stop acne from coming - so far. So let’s see what happens. I’ll still continue to use it. Would anybody recommend I go to .05? Is that stronger?

Peace and love to all my beautiful little acne angels xxxxxx


Tretinoin Gel
Reviewed on December 21, 2017

I do not usually take the time to write reviews but I felt compelled to as I heavily relied on reviews to make a decision for my skin.

I am 27 and although not constant, I would frequently get deep, very swollen, under the skin blemishes that would result in weeks of redness/marks and they would often never come to the surface. Id say this has been going on for about 7 years. I have tried everything but nothing has made this problem better. I, like many of you was worried about the horrible "purge" on tretinoin however, I am in my 3rd week and My skin is more beautiful than ever. I cant say I am even experiencing any dryness or redness. (I am using CeraVe Am moisturizer with sunscreen) I am very happy with the results so far. I will add that I began taking generic Yasmin for birth control at the same time. My doctor said it has an aldactone derivative so, one may experience spiro benefits without having to take spiro alone. I hope this helps someone, I know having bad skin can send you into a very low place. There is hope. :)


OK
Reviewed on December 11, 2017

This works but its a spot treatment, doesn't get the source of the acne


Awful month but there is a light at the end of the tunnel
Reviewed on December 5, 2017

I faced problems with acne through all my life and now, with 26 years old, I'm still with the same issues (the only notable difference is where the pimples grow). I have adult acne (hormonal acne) and this condition started to really bother me at the beginning of October; I was with 5-6 cystic pimples in my chin and left cheek. So I decided to seek for a 'birthcontrol pill' free treatment (side effects sucks) and went to the dermatologist. She prescribed me 100 mg of spironolactone and topic tretinoin 0,25mg/g with clindamycin fosfate 12mg/g. I was really excited to get rid of this problem, but actually, It just get worse. I've had the WORST breakout ever (a lot of cystic acne and some pustules), and was facing dizziness and fainting sensations due spironolactone. The conclusion: the side effects of spironolactone&tretinoin were worse than taking birthcontrol pills. Through all the month, I was sad, kind of depressed and with painful acne.

Last week I visited my dermatologist and my gynecologist, I'm now taking Diane-35 (hopefully I'll switch the pill in the future), a lower dosage of spironolactone (50 mg), doxycycline (100 mg) and topic tretinoin. Since then, I had zero breakouts and the appearance of my skin is slowling improving, so yes, I'm seeing a light at the end of the tunnel. Apart from the prescribed drugs, I've made some daily changes that also seem to have helped. I'm using FPS 60 (I was using FPS 30 before) and I always manage to cover my face when I'm outdoor, I'm really engaged in moisturizing my skin and this really helps!!!!! I'm using this gel moisturizer with thermal water, 2 times a day. Also, it's REALLY important that your skin is completely dry when you are applying tretinoin. Finally, I'm trying to avoid dairy products (so sad).

To put it shortly: if you're having a bad time with tretinoin, try to moisturize your face frequently, use high FPS sunblocks and apply tretinoin only when your skin is dry. And also, keep in mind that stress affects your acne situation and the picture can really get worse (try to relax). Hope it helps.

(Sorry for my english, I'm from Brazil :) ).


by Colleen15 on 12/22/2017 03:44
What is the moisturizer called that you use?
Good stuff
Reviewed on October 13, 2017

Tretinoin cream works pretty well for me when I’ve used it. I’m fortunate not to get much peeling skin and redness from it- just some dryness, but I don’t always use the the product straight up on my skin (I mix it with a bit of moisturizer if my skin already feels a bit dry). It never cured my acne completely but when I’ve used it I’ve noticed a big difference in the number and severity of my acne lesions- enough for me to really recognize the difference in my skin.


Mild acne and sensitive skin
Reviewed on September 16, 2017

I used Retin A 0.05% cream for two weeks and got clear skin after one week. I didn't have harmful effects, except that my face got darker and red, even though I took every precaution (sunscreen/hat). I live in a very sunny place, so definitely not worth it.


by ashiqat.aljana on 12/05/2017 08:12
U got darker as u got inflammed because of it's strength or u might applied more than what it was recommend (pea size for the whole face!) .. the darkness is a sign of a healing process after the inflammation .. try using it once a week and see how it goes at first, if u can handle it move to twice a week max as u r having sensetive skin type.. when u use it once a week at the beginning don't apply it for the second time unless u have stopped peeling from the previous application and you are not having any sign of irritation.. i learned doing this in a hard way
by ashiqat.aljana on 12/05/2017 08:16
And yeah while using it don't use any other harsh product.. even the soap or the cleanser, use a gentle one
Strong, works fine
Reviewed on August 16, 2017

I have a higher dose prescription for this, and have been using it nearly every night for 4 months. It initially dries your skin out very badly, and then within a few days the pimples are pretty much gone. However, I found that after a month or so it stopped working and was pretty much pointless. I wouldn't recommend it for those who have moderate to severe acne.


Don't regret
Reviewed on July 24, 2017

I was prescribed Tretinoin .025 cream in November, the cream almost completely cleared my skin within the first two weeks with just a few tiny spots. However, lots of redness in the cheeks, and dry lips came along with this. The cream worked very well for the first 8 months but I started breaking out a lot in the summer for the past 4 months and it's just not working for my hormonal acne since I'm a 17-year-old a boy I have a lot of that around my mouth and cheekbones in this season. I think the cream works well in the winter and the gel formula will be better in the hotter months. during this time on the medication, my forehead, nose and temple areas have been completely clear. this is a good product but not for me so I will be changing now, I don't regret going on this and I recommend you try it for yourself.


Stopped working
Reviewed on June 18, 2017

I was prescribed tretonoin .025 cream in October, and it took about a month to kick in. I had the usual drying and peeling for the first couple weeks, then my skin started to really clear up. I have terrible hormonal acne around my moth and chin, and I enjoyed about 5 months of clear skin with this cream. Around april, my skin randomly started breaking out again in the same places it used to. I got the stronger 0.05 prescription about a month ago, and my skin has only gotten worse. I am also on ortho try cyclen lo birth control, and that is supposed to help but it isn't. Is anyone having an issue with this cream not working anymore?


by Jonathan Westell on 07/24/2017 09:50
I had the same issue, I think in the summer months the lighter formula the gel version of tretinoin will work well.
by Nicoleeee25 on 07/29/2017 05:33
Ortho tri cyclen mAde me break out terribly!! I went on it for acne and had to switch because I had so many cysts from it!
by bbaye on 08/16/2017 03:33
the same thing happened to me i used it for a year and it worked great but then after a while it stopped working.. ugh
Stick with it!
Reviewed on May 25, 2017

My doctor prescribed me birth control and tretinoin .025% around 2.5 months ago. I have been using tretinoin every night pretty consistently besides skipping a night here and there to not let my skin get too "used to it". I was pretty much traveling overseas all of last month, and my I tried my very best to stick to the same regimen. Fortunately, my skin did not freak out! I was in humid and warmer locations-- which definitely benefited my skin along with the tretinoin. While abroad, my acne cleared up and my face was SPOTLESS. I went from having severe cystic acne along my jawline and a few on my cheeks to having nothing! The only thing that's left are hyperpigmentation. Since I've been back (3 weeks) in the states, the transition has impacted my skin a little. I've been getting a few cysts on the lower part of my face, but they don't last too long. I think my body is slowly adjusting to the climate, food, and schedule overall. I am praying it gets back to as clear as it was abroad. My mom has been complimenting my skin every day saying it doesn't look as red or bumpy anymore. I can also see how flat my cheeks are compared to how it was before the medication. I can't tell if it's birth control, tretinoin, or the combination of both working. Either way, it's a positive outcome! Two months on it, and I'm seeing improvement. The number one thing I've been working on is to keep my schedule as consistent as possible. Sometimes sleeping later than usual will mess up my skin. I can't wait to see the results in two more months! I heard it takes atleast four months to see full results.



Powerful. Proprietary. Proven.
The Acne.org Regimen
Complete Acne Treatment Kit
$44.87
The Acne.org Regimen
  • Clinically proven
  • Proprietary anti-acne technology
  • Powerfully effective
  • Pharmaceutical grade
  • Guaranteed effective
  • Doctor/Dermatologist recommended
  • Used in acne clicnics worldwide
  • 100% non-comedogenic
  • Fragrance-free & dye-fere
  • pH balanced
  • Scientifically formulated for acne-prone skin
  • Developed by experts at Acne.org