Page 97 of Spironolactone reviews

Read or post reviews on thousands of acne products & treatments.

Spironolactone
4.2/5 - 1175 reviews
5 star
609 reviews
4 star
346 reviews
3 star
112 reviews
2 star
53 reviews
1 star
55 reviews

Write Your Review

Spironolactone

Ingredients


Active Ingredients:
25 mg, 50 mg or 100 mg of Spironolactone.

Inactive Ingredients:
Calcium sulfate dihydrate, colloidal silicon dioxide, croscarmellose sodium, crospovidone, hypromellose, lactose monohydrate, magnesium stearate, peppermint flavor, polydextrose, polyethethylene glycol, povidone, pregelatinized (corn) starch, sodium lauryl sulfate, titanium dioxide and triacetin.

Items marked with orange can be irritating and over-drying, especially to acne-prone skin.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

Spironolactone

Where to buy

Acne.org is not associated with this product. All proceeds from links go to charity.

[The prices listed above may change at any time and in some cases do not include shipping.]

Spironolactone

Did you find a problem with this item?


 Mark product as discontinued

 Flag an error in this listing

member avatar
Joy, San Diego
This member joined prior to 2007 and is not clickable.
Reviewed on May 17, 2008

I'm 28 and on my third attempt at spironolactone--I've taken it twice before and then gradually weened off of it when I had success at clearing my facial acne (mainly chin area). In winter every year my face starts breaking out like no tomorrow, and then I start taking spiro and it starts to reduce oil almost immediately, but then takes about 9 weeks to fully improve skin texture and stop the painful cysts. During the initial treatment I am running to the bathroom, feeling dizzy, getting headaches and the acne actually gets worse, but at the 9-week mark it clears up and then I just have to be patient for a few weeks/months while the scarring fades. Meanwhile the side effects have stopped but I'm getting double periods (didn't happen the other times). On the flip side, I'm not cramping, and I'm one of those people who has passed out from menstrual pain at the onset of my period. So all in all, two periods a month is a small price to pay for clear skin and no pain.


member avatar
tcm, boston,ma
This member joined prior to 2007 and is not clickable.
Reviewed on May 17, 2008

My dermatologist recommended this to me last fall after years of failed treatments - retin-a, differen, azelex, mino + tetracycline, clindamicyn, etc., and I hesitated for a bit but decided to try it out this spring after reading the reviews on the message boards.

10 days after starting Spiro, I started developing these red bumps on my arms. The next morning, I woke up itching all over - they had spread and were even on my lips, which were red and misshapen. Even worse, my throat was tight and I had difficulty breathing. I ended up in the ER for six hours and received an IV treatment of benadryl and prednisone. I also had to continue benadryl and prednisone for five days to help clear the reaction out of my system. I'm lucky it wasn't worse.

I think the allergic reaction is rare as I haven't seen anything on these boards, and my dermatologist said that she's only had one patient in 20 years that had a reaction to the Spiro. But I just wanted to post it as an FYI.


member avatar
ana, mexico
This member joined prior to 2007 and is not clickable.
Reviewed on May 17, 2008

seems to be reducing oil significantly. cysts have cleared up...they became resistant to 200mg daily of doxycyline combined with trinessa (generic ortho tricyclen) and topical creams like duac/differin. i am still on the trinessa and have kept up with the topicals.

it is great to be less oily and have clear skin, but

1. I feel like this drug is really no joke...we are playing with a med inicated to lower BP. also from what i have read it can cause serious birth defects, in my opinion just as bad as accutane.

2. So...has anyone been able to stop using sprio after a course of say 5 months and stay clear?

Thanks!


member avatar
Beth, Alameda, CA
This member joined prior to 2007 and is not clickable.
Reviewed on May 15, 2008

I had acne in my teens/early 20s that seemed to subside after hitting my mid 20s and taking Ortho-Novum 777. At around 35 (after playing around with my birthcontrol) my acne returned worse than I ever remember it being when I was a teen. I started taking Spironolactone about 2 years ago and I wish I had access to this drug years ago. Definitely worth a try for anyone who has tried everything else with little success.


member avatar
Froggirl68, Lenoir, NC
This member joined prior to 2007 and is not clickable.
Reviewed on May 14, 2008

I am 39 and have been living with the fight of acne for 25 years. I have tried everything under the sun but nothing works. I switch doctors to try Accutane but he suggested Spironolactone because my hormones were somewhat elevated. I have been on Spironolactone for almost 2 months. I haven't seen much improvment as far as oil and was farirly clear for a few weeks. A few weeks ago I started breaking out really bad with cystic acne all over my chin and forehead. My doctor put me back on my antibiotic for a couple months until Spironolactone kicked in. I still haven't noticed much of a change in oil or the acne. Is this nromal or is this not going to work for me??????


member avatar
skin blues, New York
This member joined prior to 2007 and is not clickable.
Reviewed on May 13, 2008

It took about seven weeks (one month at 50 mg daily followed by an increase to 100 mg daily) but for the first time in many years my skin has made a tremendous improvement. If I get any blemishes at all, they last about two days a month. They're typically tiny and non-inflamed and only noticeable to me. But I consider my skin to be "normal" finally. It feels smoother and healthier than ever. The cycle irregularity doesn't really bother me, though I realize that could get frustrating for some.


member avatar
Jennifer, TX
This member joined prior to 2007 and is not clickable.
Reviewed on May 12, 2008

This is the first thing that has ever worked for me in over 25 years of going to different dermatologists. I have tried just about everything except accutane, I was afraid of that stuff! This works a miracle. Never did I think I would be able to go without make-up, but honestly, I can now, and nobody notices. It's WONDERFUL. I am so thankful that I switched docs. This is the first thing she suggested. Careful about potential pregnancies though. I've had my tubes tied, so it's no problem. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS TREATMENT!


member avatar
annabelle, wyoming
This member joined prior to 2007 and is not clickable.
Reviewed on May 12, 2008

This is also the only thing that has ever worked for me. I actually just got back on it. YES, you will break out just as bad as before you were on it when you go off it. I went off it to try and get pregnant for 7 months and broke out really bad with cystic acne on cheeks and forhead,chest, and some on my neck! I found out my husband has fertility issues and decided to go back on it until we can get help gettting pregnant and I actually do get pregnant. Blondie........I just started Isolaz. I had my first treatment a week ago. You really don't think it helped? I've heard really good things about it. Did they tell you to extract all your zits the night after the procedure? I'm blonde too:)


member avatar
Kristy, Saint Louis, MO
This member joined prior to 2007 and is not clickable.
Reviewed on May 11, 2008

I am almost 30 years old and have suffered cystic acne sine my teens. After trying every product, drug, etc, available, including 2 rounds of accutane, I had given up hope. I cam across this site about 4 months ago and immediately approached my dermatologist regarding spironolactone. I have just started my third month of treatment at 100mg per day and for the first time in my life I have clear skin. I have had no negative side effects to this drug and would highly reccommend this to anyone.


member avatar
violet, south east,england
This member joined prior to 2007 and is not clickable.
Reviewed on May 11, 2008

If your acne is because of haywire hormones then this is the pill for you! absolutely amazing!!! breakouts in the first couple of weeks but do try and stick it out and you wont regret it. im on my fourth week taking 100mg per day and i feel like a new woman. im no longer waking up to new spots but instead watching them vanish day by day. I know how it feels when you feel like you are stuck under a black cloud that just wont quit, however spiro will bring the light back into your life..well it has for me. good luck everyone.... xxxxxxx