Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

HEY ALL! Let me start off by telling you a little about myself. My name is Amy, I'm 34 and from NJ, but have been living here in SW FL for the last 7 years. I'm a nurse but for the last 3 years I've been a stay at home mom and housewife. Also, back in NJ I was an esthetician and the whole reason I went to school to become one was because I suffered from acne (vulgaris AND cystic) since I was approx. 15 years old. My only sibling, an older sister, is also an esthetician here in FL. Our father had cystic acne, which is hereditary, so unfortunately both my sis and I got it too. Before acne I had a pretty good self image. I was a gymnast with a wide circle of friends, outgoing and always happy. When I started breaking out in cysts my self esteem went crashing to the floor. I fell into a depression and avoided events that either took place during the day, or were in well lit area's. I basically lived at the dermatologist's office and tried everything under the sun for my acne- both OTC and prescribed: doxycycline, erythromycin ,sulfa, minocycline, Ortho TriCyclen (when it came out) not to mention the topicals: benzoyl peroxide, clindamycin, benzamycin and Retin-A but to no avail; my acne persisted. My derma told me I had very resistant acne- "stubborn zits!", but still I sought a "cure". In 1993 I was living with my sister outside Atlanta when she read an article in Cosmo about a really good dermatologist out of Atlanta named Dr. Brody. Immediately we made appointments and waited the 3-4 months to get in. I was SOOO nervous at my appointment! I had been praying and hoping that he would be my skin "savior", so when the appointment time came I almost didn't go because I thought I'd be let down, AGAIN! Thankfully, I DID go, and he really was the great Dr. I had hoped he'd be! Not only did he put me on Accutane, but he also gave me my first cortisone shot (I had 2 cysts that I had woken up with that day- the