Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
mandathepanda

I have some questions about AHA?

Hi there. I just started the regimen and besides acne I have some red marks I'd like to get rid of too. I've been reading on the posts about AHA? Can someone tell me more about that? All I know is that it is in some moisturizers and that it removes red marks. I am very interested in this. Could someone who uses this tell me how they like the effects of AHA and what products I could just purchase in a drugstore that contain AHA and would be fine to use in Dan's Regimen? Thanks alot! :razz:

Hi manda,

Oh well, I'm not an expert on AHA's but I've read a bit about them and I'm currently using an AHA based lotion, so I thought I could share my experience with you.

The Neutrogena Healthy Skin lotion I'm using contains 8% of glycolic acid. I've read that such concentrations (among 8 and 15%) are not dangerous and work well as moisturizers. Since the acid acts as a gentle exfoliator, it helps to remove the dead skin and flakes. It gradually balances the skin tone and of course fades redmarks faster than a regular moisturizer.

I've been seeing what I just described on my own skin, during 3 weeks of use. I started with 2 pumps, then I made it 5 pumps because I was as dry as a desert snake. Of course, I did get a little bit red, but I also got my dryness and flakiness under control in a matter of 2 or 3 days. Now I cut it to 4 pumps beacuse of the spring time making me sweat. I'm not as dry as I used to when I needed a lot of moisturizer.

I'm quite satisfied with this product. However, other people have reported breakouts and other issues when using it. The tough part, I think, is putting up with the initial stinging and redness that may occur. I've also read about mixing it with a regular moisturizer, with great results.

Good luck.