Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Mech

Could anyone give me some advice?

Hey. I am new to this forum. I love chat forums, but have never thought to look for any about acne, which I have been battling for atleast five years (I am 22 now). I wouldn't say my acne is as bad as it could be, but it definately lowers my self-esteem, when it comes to meeting new people and making first impressions (yeah I know, seems like that'd be shallow for some people to judge based on that, but I am always afraid that it runs through everyones mind when they see me.)

I am not really sure what type I have. I sometimes get small pimples (guessing they are whiteheads?) which usually go away while using Minocline. However, I have been on it for a while, but it has never gotten rid of the redness under my skin. In this area, my skin feels smooth, so I know it is all underneath the skin. I was told about acutane, maybe a year or so ago, but never went through with it because I heard of some bad side effects. Plus they required a blood test, which i hate getting blood drawn (unless it's just a prick on the finger). Now of course, after reading some of these other threads before posting anything, that acutane really seems to have worked for a lot of people. What I would like to know is, looking at the picture below, do you think it would help me out? I would be up to try it, but I recently lost my parents insurance (due to graduating college :/) which covered trips to the Doctors, but now I have a big deductable.

Has anyone ever had my type of acne, and what has worked? Has anyone ever had really bad side effects of acutane? I have to see hundreds of people everyday where I work, and I really have just been getting very self conscious about it.

Thanks for reading my post.

http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2003-1/84775/Acne1.jpg

hi, and welcome!