Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
nup

Many questions: Do I use those or not?

Hello, I'm new here, so sorry if this is in the wrong section.

I'm 35 and have adult cystic acne.

Please, please, please help! :pray:

I have been using adapalene for four months and since I saw no good permanent results from it I switched to BP two weeks ago. The thing is, I live in Greece and most of the products that I see mentioned on this forum are impossible to find here. All the BP products (neutrogena and BP gel) are unavailable, and so are the cleansers and moisturisers mentioned on here.

I started using the only BP-containing acne cream I found here, called brevoxyl (BP 4%), while cleansing with a bar my dermatologist suggested that is locally made and contains salicylic acid. Note that I made the switch from adapalene to BP without consulting a doctor, purely by what information I found on the internet and also based on some very good reviews I read in here.

Another thing is that, as expected, BP is making my skin sooooo dry. So far I've been using bepanthol (bepanthene?) as a moisturiser and it was good enough, but it does not seem to be working anymore. In fact, my dry bits are still dry, while my oily bits still get extra shiny! So in my quest for the perfect moisturiser I came across a facial cream by biotherm that also contains salicylic acid. A friend let me try some of her's and it was good as a moisturiser but for a while after I applied it it stung my skin. Boy, did it hurt!

So, I would be eternally grateful to all those of you who know a little more and could answer some questions for me:

Question #1: To your knowledge, is it advisable to use BP and salicylic acid together?

Question #2: How long after you apply the BP do you wait until you put on the moisturiser? Does it matter if you put it immediately after your skin feels dry? Is it bad to use a dry skin cream (as a night cream)?