Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Novalie

My derm appt is on Tuesday & I need to know something before I go...

Hi!

I have been visiting a derm every month for the past 3 months to get kenalog injections for some hypertrophic (raised) scars on my back/shoulders. Almost all of the scars are flat (although some are a bit indented now, and some are a little raised but not enough to get an injection), so I think my appt on Tuesday will be my last.

The problem is, even though my hypertrophic scars are now flat (for the most part), they are still very red. She said that the redness would go away as the scars decreased in size, but they are just as red as they were before I got the kenalog.

The thing is, I think that we all know more about scars then most of the dermatologists out there! So I need to know exactly what to ask for when I go in there, because if I ask for her opinion, she will suggest microdermabrasion or something (I've had microderm on these scars - it did nothing).

Is the redness caused by blood vessels/capallaries underneath the skin that can only be treated with lasers (and if so, are there any lasers out there that work?). Or is there a prescription cream/gel/topical that will help reduce the redness?

I am coming to you all here, because I believe you know so much about this stuff, and I want to go into my last derm appt armed with the knowledge of exactly what to ask for. Is there are certain prescription I should ask for? Or is there a certain laser(s) I should look into? Is there any peel that will help with this?

Thanks, guys! I respect your opinions and advice so much!! :wub:

UPDATE: I just had a test spot of V-Beam performed on my biggest scar. It is very red right now, as expected, but I'm hoping to see results.

Has anyone had any luck with V-Beam to get rid of redness, particularly the redness in a hypertrophic scar?

Guest pppapillon