Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
uscstudent

Warning concerning long-term Doxycycline use

Firstly, hello all. I have long been an avid reader of these forums and over the past few years, they've been an invaluable source of information and support. I now feel that I must contribute to the discussion, and I think I have something very important to share.

I suppose I should begin with some background information: I am now 21 years old, and I have suffered from acne since I was a sophomore in high school. In the early years, I fought it using Bactrim, an oral antibiotic, and Differin gel. All of sudden, halfway through my second year of college, my acne became severe, and my face was quickly covered in cysts, some of which took months to heal. Several months after completing a full course of Accutane, my acne once again became mild/moderate, so I resumed treatment using an oral antibiotic and Differin gel. This time, the antibiotic prescribed by my doctor was Doxycycline.

Unlike many of the members here at acne.org, I had great success with the Doxycycline. It definitely kept the acne in check. Little did I realize, however, the dangers of its long-term use. The thing that still amazes me is the fact that doctors typically do not expressly state the risks when prescribing this drug (and other antibiotics). Hell, for years (right on up to the present) I thought nothing of popping those pills twice a day.