Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Life_Sucks

Fraxel vs. TCA Peel

From what i've gathered fraxel or any laser has the most risk. i heard about people experiencing fat loss from the thermage laser. when that laser first came out, everyone said it would work wonders. Fraxel is fairly new. although i have not heard anyone say they've expereinced adverse reactions, you still can't be sure at this point. i think with TCA there's a risk of hyperpimentation, but if you started out with a low concentration to see how your skin reacts you could then have an idea. from what i've gathered, and i'm no expert, one should start out with a peel and work his or her way up. maybe try a 20% TCA peel and take it from there. i think the laser is something you try after other procedures have failed. again, i'm no expert, i'm trying to figure this out myself. but i do think the peels are the safest way to start out. the TCA cross is a different ballgame, and i'm trying to figure out just how risky it is myself. i would be weary of putting something that strong on your face.

So to clarify -- Fraxel involves a laser and has no record of fat loss at least according to that doctor? That sounds pretty good. And olbarn, if you're out there, can you tell me more about the Thermage you mentioned? I was under the impression that Thermage was not meant for acne scarring but more to tighten up skin that loosens with age and it's not as intense as receiving a facelift. Is that correct?

Fraxel is about as safe as you can get as far as scar treatments go, and I would wager it is also the most effective.

http://shorelaser.com/FractionalAblativeLaser.html - General Information

It can penetrate twice as deep as the Co2 and beacause it leaves 80% of your skin undamaged each time, there is little downtime or risk.