Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Well, after reading so many of you guys' logs over the past couple days I've been inspired to keep track of my own progress on Isotetrinoin. Hopefully someone will get some use out of this, and if not it will be interesting for me to look back on my own experience.

I'm currently 20 years old, attending college and living with my boyfriend. I've had moderate acne for 6 years. I've tried every OTC product imagineable, and just about every prescritption product as well - including several oral antibiotics, prescription topicals, and birth control pills. My family doctor was hesistant to prescribe Accutane to me because she did not believe in prescribing it to women (bah!) Now that I'm in my 3rd year of college I finally said ENOUGH IS ENOUGH! and scheduled an appointment with a dermatologist in one of the upscale clinics downtown. They were so wonderful there, and their clinic was absolutely stunning (I felt like I was going to the spa!) After taking my bloodtest, two pregnancy tests, and wading knee deep through the pages and pages of legal documents (Ok ok, I GET IT, dont get pregnant... jesus) I was prescribed 20mg a day for the first month. 20mg/day seems a little low compared to what everyone else starts out on, but I am fairly petite (around 115 lbs) so I'm not terribly worried about it, and if it reduces my chances of getting a bad breakout then I'm happy!

I really want to be cleared up for Christmas (and all the photos and crap bleh) but that's probably not a reasonable timeframe. If anything, I want to be looking great for my 21st birthday (in march) and just put all of this acne crap behind me!