Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
~TEPL0~

Advice from an experienced regimen user

I'll try to make this brief and informative.

I've had severe cystic acne for 6 years, and I was supposed to go on Accutane. I didn't want to, so I did all I could to find another solution. I found Dan's regimen, and now my skin is 99% clear. I've been using the regimen for about 2 years now, and I'd like to share some tips.

Washing your face

When you're done washing your face, it should be "squeaky clean." Don't dry it with a towel, but wait for it to air-dry, to minimize irritation and germs. When it's dry, your skin should feel a little tight, but not uncomfortably dry.

Different water requires different soap. For hard water, I use Cetaphil Antibacterial bar. For soft water, I use a slightly "stronger" soap: Ivory. When using soap, it's important not to rub hard. Put lots of soap on your hands, but rub your face very gently. If it's not cleaning your face enough for a "squeaky" feeling, wash your face with the soap one more time, or switch to a stronger soap.

Clean and Clear Blackhead Clearing scrub: the greatest thing ever created next to Dan's BP. It's an essential part of keeping my skin healthy.

Here's how I wash:

Right now I'm in NYC, and the water in my building is very soft. Cetaphil just wasn't cleaning my face enough. I switched to Ivory.

1. wash off old BP with hands

2. wash face with Ivory (lots of soap on hands, but wash very gently)

3. wash with Clean and Clear Blackhead Clearing Scrub (rub gently)

4. wash again with Ivory (again, keep in mind that this is very soft water, so it doesn't overdry to wash twice. )

5. air dry

When I'm somewhere with hard water:

1. wash off BP with hands

2. wash face with Clean and Clear Blackhead Clearing Scrub

3. gently wash with Cetaphil Antibacterial bar

4. air dry

Applying BP