Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Hello everyone! I am new to Acne.org as a poster, but I have been reading posts for about a month now (just to see how things went here.) I just wanted to let people know how much acne.org has helped! I have been diagnosed at the dermatologist with severe cystic acne, and decided afterward to try and find a place on the net where people are going through the same things as I am.

My background with acne has been hell lately in the past couple of years. It started when I was about 16, but it wasn't bad at all then. It really started giving me problems when I was 18 and just got worse and worse until recently when I finally felt that I would really like to try and get rid of this. My first dermatologist appointment was last month. For as long as I've had acne (I'm 22 now), I thought it was just a matter of finding the right topical cleansers, masks, astringents, you name it. But eventually I figured out that it was not going to go away until I got professional help. I actually wouldn't have waited so long if I had had medical insurance; I had to wait until I had money to go to a derm, which costs about $65 a visit, not including the money for prescriptions (I was prescribed Doxycyline and Benzoyl Peroxide 5%). It's good to know that some of you are going through the same thing.

By the way, it seemed my acne got a lot worse around late August, early September during the time that Hurricane Katrina hit. Although my family and I didn't suffer major losses, we didn't have an easy time with it either, due to being without electricity and running water for some days (we did have bathtub water though!) and losing some income. Compared to the people in New Orleans, Biloxi, and other places who lost everything, this was a cakewalk I know, but the stress seemed to make my acne much worse than it had been. :boohoo: