Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Jskate

How does BP fail?

I keep asking myself this question.

Acne (the pimple kind) is caused by bacteria right? The bacteria activates the immune system, and then it creates a red bump. Since BP gel kills the bacteria, pimples should not form right?

So.. why do the pimples still form?

Mass amounts of BP gel should constantly kill off any type of bacteria 24/7 (if kept on 24/7). So, how does the bacteria still get in!?

I understand after 2 or 3 weeks that the pimples are still forming. Since thats how long it takes. But after that, I don't get it.

well,bp does kill of the bacteria,which is one of the factors in acne,but the other major factor is dead skin cells clogging up your pores which bp doesnt help. im no expert,but i figure if your pores are clogged,then the BP can't get in and do what it's supposed to,thats why its good to make sure your skin is properly hydrated to keep skin cells from flaking off before they're due,and maybe using a moisturizer with a low ammount of salicylic acid (.5 to 1%) may also help keep things in order

well,bp does kill of the bacteria,which is one of the factors in acne,but the other major factor is dead skin cells clogging up your pores which bp doesnt help. im no expert,but i figure if your pores are clogged,then the BP can't get in and do what it's supposed to,thats why its good to make sure your skin is properly hydrated to keep skin cells from flaking off before they're due,and maybe using a moisturizer with a low ammount of salicylic acid (.5 to 1%) may also help keep things in order

Yeah, if you're not killing the bacteria, then the acne is going to continue.

But there's another factor. Even if I *am* thoroughly killing the bacteria, I find I continue to get acne for 2-3 months.