Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Apparently it helps strengthen cell membranes and speed up healing. It is supposedly non-comedogenic and slightly anti-bacterial, but I personally just don't like the idea of it.

angel4306, baptista is totally right. I've been using it for a few months, so I can add my own experience.

Basically, the oil has a long history of being used by Australian natives for a variety of purposes, namely wound healing as well as joint and muscle aches and pains. They would literally cut off the fat from the sacrificed emu bird and apply the slab of fat to the wound or joint. Researchers (particularly at Boston University) have studied its properties and have discovered a number of important benefits:

*It is composed primarily of some skin-healthy fatty acids, namely oleic acid (a mono-unsaturated fatty acid) and omega-3 and omega-6 poly-unsaturated fatty acids.

*It penetrates the skin very well, as a result of its fatty acid composition and can be used as a very effective transdermal carrier (i.e. to help other products penetrate the skin). These fatty acids are also very good for building the skin's support structure, so it helps in skin health maintenance.

*It has anti-inflammatory properties, which researchers determined are non-steroidal (no need to understand this technically; but just to know that non-steroidal anti-inflammatory action is preferred to steroidal). It has been shown in a number of clinical studies to be particularly good for wound healing.

*As a result of the combination of its skin penetration abilities and anti-inflammatory properties, it is actually useful in helping joint problems as well (aches and pains, arthritis, etc.) when applied topically, so the Australian natives' experience was clinically shown to be effective.