Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Well I've been using this website as a resource for about 7 months now, and reading the message board for about 4, but I only recently registered.

Acne was never really a problem for me, well not what I considered to be a problem.. from the ages of 15 - 18/ I got mild spots and the occasional cyst on my forehead.... no big deal, I still functioned.

I started University with a pretty clear face, but as the year progressed my acne got worse and worse (im 19 at this point). Pustuales and cysts were a regular occurance on my forehead and round my jaw line, I dreaded going to sleep because I knew the next day I'd wake up and find new horrible clumps of acne.

Yep I know how many of you feel, you wake up in the morning and have a few seconds of hazy bliss before you remember your acne and realise your going to have to face the mirror and see brand new spots.

Pretty soon I was avoiding social engagements, constantly pretending to be ill.... and saying I had 'family crap' I had to attend too. It really did suck. I didnt like hanging out with my friends because all I could see was their baby skin perfect forehead and it would just make me angry and depressed, I couldnt have fun doing anything.

I thought that this must be as bad as it can get, and that soon i'd grow out of it.

Luckily I came accross this site... and was totally horrified by what I read....

From what I had been reading on these forums I soon realised that battle of acne may only just be beggining and that 19 is the age where it just STARTS to get severe, I was left feeling totally sick and depressed at this thought....... here I am 19 years old, and the prospect of having to deal with this shit until im about 23.

Whats worse is I was a late bloomer, I was 5ft 5 until I was like 18, then I shot up to 5ft 11... so I thought it very well could be the case my hormones are catching up with themselves and acne was just beginning.