Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
unhappy

anyone tried tazorac?

has anyone tried tazorac? my derm told me to use it but it really dries up my skin and makes it red. I've tried it for 2 weeks only. but he said that its suppose help "new" skin to form. has anyone tried it for a longer period of time and had a good outcome?

Yes, I have. I use it Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, w/out problem. However, when I first started it (and for a period of about six months,) I used it religiously each night. I used lots of it, too.

It has definitely helped soften my scarring-- I stand firmly behind this fact because it's my firsthand experience... I also acknowledge the fact some people can't tolerate it, and to those people I concede the fact that it might not be a treatment for everybody.

I've been using it, off and on, for about two years.

does your skin become red and peely? and when you put lotion on it stings? I just want to see if we both have the same side effects.

I never, ever wear lotion. Despite the tremendous anti-acne properties of tazorac, daily lotion would create too much of a mess, so I don't know if it stings.

However, when I wore a sunscreen called ZincO, I never had a stinging problem... And ZincO was this paste-cream.

My skin does peel, and I think this is intrinsic to how well this particular retinoid works... However, it's not difficult to dislodge, as long as I do it in the shower. Once I've been soaking for about five minutes (I take once-daily showers, by the way), I will very gently buff my skin with the pads of my fingers: I wouldn't even call this motion rubbing, since buffing accurately describes how gentle I am with my touch. This peels off the flakes that are ready to dislodge, and leaves intact the flakes that will be ready to dislodge in a few more days. I don't have any problem with visible peeling except in the dead of Chicago winter, and that's when I carry around a tube of aquaphor all day.