Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
BFGUITAR

Im goin on tane its final

I recently came off the anti-biotics to see if the retin-a at night and bp in the morning routine has worked and unfortunately it hasnt. When i go to the derm in a week im going to have to start accutane. I really dont want to but i dont think i have a choice. My problem is that my skin isnt oily at all. I get pimples with average skin. What wou;ld accutane do? Make my skin extra dry? I only have and oily forhead and nose but i havent gotten one pimple ther ein my entire life.

What exactly woudl tane do for me?

Yes, you will probably get very dry skin. My skin was moderately oily before accutane and now it is never oily at all. I can only wash my face once a day or else it gets really dry, and even then I don't want to wash because it is so drying but I know I should.

Hey BFGuitar...I'm not a tane expert, since I just started a couple days ago myself, but from what I have researched and read, odds are definitely in our favor that accutane will clear us up and we have a really good chance of it staying away. Just to give you some reassurance, 3 of my cousins have taken it w/ success and havent had acne since. My mom took it and it went away for good after she had all of us boys, one of our hired men has taken it also w/ success, and myself and another one of my cousins have just started it recently so from my personal experience it works wonders. You probably will get dry though but nothing a mosturizer can't handle. Im on my 4th day and have yet to feel dryness except my lips a little bit. Good luck in whatever you choose, and if you decide to take it you should post your story under the topic "who all started accutane or is going to between 8/15-8/30". We already have a good number of people starting accutane that can help eachother along the journey.

Hey thanks alot guys.