Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
sunnygrl

My Regimen Experience

Well, I'm cheating today, because I am starting my log at Day 6. I have struggled with acne since I was 14 and never really grew out of it. In high school, it got really bad and I tried Retin A, various prescription drugs, and finally accutane. I was on accutane for 8 months and although it got rid of the cystic acne, my acne never completely cleared up. As well, I experienced really bad side effects. After putting up with it for 8 months, I totally gave up on trying to improve my acne and at 16 came to see it as something inevitable. I have scarring from pimples that cover my entire forehead. It looks as though my forehead is simply covered in pimples-but it's really just scars. My acne has calmed down a lot in recent years (I'm 24), but I still am never acne free or just have a couple of pimples here and there. Then just recently I graduated from university and my acne started to come back with a vengeage. My chin got the worst of it and was just covered with pimples. This went on for 3 months. They just wouldn't go away and I started worrying that I would end up with the same nasty scarring on my chin as I have on my forehead. Sooo I googled acne and lo and behold, I found The Regimen. This really appealed to me because I do not trust dermatologists/doctors to help me with my skin. Accutane is the strongest stuff there is, and it did not help me. I would much rather try over the counter treatments with few side effects. Also, there's this discussion board and it's so nice to be able to talk to other people who know what it's like to feel like crap because of their acne.