Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
sad_girl_4_everrr

estrogen (birth conrol pills)

Hi everyone, I just started taking estrostep 3 weeks ago, and it seems like my acne got worse. And it's a really wierd type of acne I have now, i wanna know is it caused by the estrogen or anything that's in the estrostep pill? and if so, is it just the "purging" type thing that accurs when you first start to take it? I asked my doctor and she said the pill shouldn't cause acne. I'm really starting to lose hope. I've done everything you can imagine and my skin just wont clear up. And i'm 19, and I've been having issues since I was around 13. I just don't know what's causing it. I even thought it was hormonal, but I got a hormonal imbalance check done and it came out normal. I have a feeling it might be caused by stress, but does stress cause nasty, painfull, red, scarring acne?

Any and all help would be appreicated greatly.

actually, I'm thinking of stopping the use of estrostep. I just read the possible side-affects and they're horrible. That's really going to suck because I'm pretty sure my skin is gonna act really crazy after I stop using it, right? I just don't wanna stop using it and then my skin gets even worse. Because you know how medications are, once you start, there's the purging, and then once you stop, it's the purging (or whatever it would be called). is that true? that stopping the use of a medication can have an affect like that?

I took Estrostep for a couple packs and didn't like it. It didn't help my acne, it made my breasts very tender and my whole body bloated, and killed my libido. I switched to Yasmin and it agrees with me much better. It's progesterone is an anti-androgen, so it's better at controlling hormonal acne, and it has reduced the hormonal breakouts that i have, although not the general breakouts. Instead of completely stopping BC, talk to your gyn about switching you to a different brand.