Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

I have been reluctant to make this post, but if it helps someone else then I suppose it is a good thing.

I am older than most people posting here as I have about 30 years of experience of living with acne. Now that I am older it is much better, but I still have to be concerned with the dreaded first look in the mirror in the morning to see what has or hasn't developed (you know the drill).

At any rate, I decided about 3 and a half months ago to give the acnelamp a try. It advertised a 90 money back guarantee and before ordering it I called the company to inquire about the details of this guarantee. When I called, they thought I was trying to return a lamp and gave me absolutely no grief, simply telling me how to do it. They seemed surprised when I told them I was not trying to return one, and I was just asking about the details of their policy. They said that about 30% of the people return them as it does not work for everyone. At any rate, I took it as a good sign and decided to risk the $199 and give it a try.

After about 8 weeks I thought I began to see positive improvements. I used it for two 15 minute sessions a day for the first couple of weeks and then just 15 minutes a day after that. In a purely stupidly non-scientific method, I also made the change to a milder soap shortly thereafter. I had been using OxyClean face wash as this was the only thing that worked for me for the past umpteen years. But, the redness was a problem. I switched to just a Purpose fash wash a few weeks into using the acnelamp. But, like probably most of you, I have tried numerous face washes (including this Purpose one) over the years without success, always having to return to the OxyWash so I don't think the change of soap was the difference. It is nice, however, to now be able to use a milder soap and not break out like before.