Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
wishfulthinkin

switching for proactiv to the regimen

Hi, I was just wondering if anyone on this board has ever switched from using proactiv to bp gel. I've been using proactiv for about 4 months now, and so far it is the only product that has ever even remotely worked for me. I've even tried Accutane and it only worked while I was on it. As soon as I stopped taking it I broke out again. Anyways, the proactiv does work somewhat (it has reduced my pimples by about 70 percent), but it is expensive. I've ordered some bp gel to see if that will be more effective for me, but I'm nervous because I've heard that people have experienced some bad breakouts after going off the proactiv. Will this still happen if I replace it with the regimen? Can someone please help? Also, do you think the regimen will work better than the proactiv? Maybe make my skin 89-90 percent clear.

Thank you so much biggrin.gif

The last thing I had tried before starting the Regimen, was Proactiv. It was my second attempt with Proactiv, both times it did nothing to improve my skin, and actually made it worse. Plus the cost, as you mentioned, is awful. I went straight from Proactiv to the Regimen, and only had vast improvements. You should be fine switching from one type of bp product to another. They both use 2.5% bp, the only big difference is you will now be using a gentle cleanser, not the granule cleanser like Proactiv, and you will use a moisturizer, and no toner involved. It is also cheaper, and much more effective for me.

So, give it a go and report back how it is going for you. And remember, you are going to be applying much more bp than the proactiv recommends.

good luck!