Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
person222

bodybuilders on here

is there a link between there being a lot of us on here? seems a bit strange, all day ive been trying to think way back when i started working out and going on high protein diets to see if i had acne before but i didnt but i also didnt get acne as soon as i started working out so personally id say there isnt a link, but im not 100%

oh and how much weight r u guys lifting ? ive lowered mine recently cause roaccutane makes my back hurt

I say the reason for so many people doing body building with acne is that it can take ure mind off things and give u extra confidence with other parts of your body. Ive been throught a faze of going to the gym everynite to get my mind off acne, but wasnt working to well.

I have been bodybuilding pretty seriously for about 15 years. I do not think there is a strong correlation. I had acne before training and, very obviously, I am just acne prone.

I do believe that heavy lifting and certain supplements can increase natural testosterone and, therefore, aggravate acne. But, you would have to have an acne problem to begin with for this to happen. Many weightlifters never breakout. It is because they do not have this disease. I seriously believe that if I never picked up a weight, I would have still had this problem. I have taken 6 moths off from lifting for various resons and my skin stayed about the same. Now if I sweat a lot and do not get washed (doing any activity), that will often cause a breakout.

I also believe that more people with this problem do workout because it tends to boost confidence. So that could be why there are many people on here that lift

weights.