Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Hello. I am new to this chat forum. I must say that it has been very helpful. I have been reading posts for about two hours now. I have a few questions that I'm hoping y'all can help me with.

I am 25 years old and had the big cyst type acne when i was in my late teens. The acne wasn't as much of a problem as my picking at it. In highschool I would do the normal "squeezing." When I got to college I started taking adderall for ADD. This medicine made me highly obsessive. I would sit in the mirror for hours and pick at my face. It was really crazy. I kept thinking that there was more oil to dig out, and thus I scarred myself.

Now that I'm "all grown up", no longer on adderall, and use proactive, I no longer have problems with my skin except for the 13 or so scars. They are not icepick. Some are wider than others, but they are mostly boxcar or rolling scars I think?

I am frustrated daily by these scars because the rest of my skin looks really healthy. I just feel like I would be so much more confident and less self conscious if these scars were "fixed."

Is there a particular procedure or combo of procedures that y'all suggest? I live in Louisiana and have not seen any of the docs in my hometown yet. But, I think the only things they offer are microdermabrasion and botox type stuff--mostly anti aging things. I think that I would have to go to New Orleans to find a good doctor that offers more.

I want to be able to put makeup on in order to enhance beauty rather than camoflauge scars! Heck, I want to be able to NOT put makeup on! I am hoping to be able to use my tax return for payment, but I will only do this if I feel like the treatment will be beneficial. I am praying for an answer.

Any of your input and or past experiences will be much appreciated!!

Thanks!

Bri eusa_pray.gif

I would say I have lke 15 scars and now that I use proactiv I get no more acne.