Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
roboto

I know it works but....

Hello my friends

I am a scientist at heart. I can't simply accept something as the truth just because someone says so. That's why in my 15 years fighting acne I've had to try many many many products without one being better than the other. Once I became an MD, I delved into the medical literature (fancy name for medical studies published in medical journals) and found many interesting things. One of which is that benzoyl peroxide is definitively very effective when compared to a placebo (a gel with no medicine in it). So, even if I haven't tried the regimen, and I will, there is certainly evidence out there coming from well-controlled studies showing why this would work.

Now, after many years fighting this I've found my face's weakness....it's kryptonite. That is sweat. And not only sweat but usually sweat,dirt,sun ....all those things your face gets exposed to like say when you play a round of golf. It NEVER fails.... if I play basketball, golf, etc outside....BAM! 3 days later exactly I start breaking out. Clockwork. It never fails.

Of course, thinking that I should get rid of the sweat/oil/dirt that my skin accumulates during a game, I bought some OXY salicylic acid wipes to clean the grime out. Yes, it does turn a nasty grayish brown after I use it. I use it usually when I'm still warm/seating when supposedly my pores are still open. But it doesn't WORK!

Has anyone had this same experience? Does the regimen cover you through a game or any other activity outdoors? Or do you try to clean up your face like I do right after?

Any answers would be appreciated. And for you info nuts out there, here is a meta-analysis of many different medicine studies on acne treatments.

http://www.ahrq.gov/clinic/epcsums/acnesum.htm eusa_think.gif