Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
some guy

My accutane log... with pictures

I'm finally starting my first course of accutane today. 40mg of Claravis once a day (I weigh around 60kg), and I'll be using Cetaphil moisturizer and just regular Chapstick.

I guess I should introduce myself. I've been lurking these boards for a while now but never really got around to posting until today. My name is John, I'm 17 and I'm a college freshman. I haven't been able to enjoy college like most other people due to my self-consciousness about my acne which put me through a lot of depression and pain. I started getting acne when I was 13, but it was always on the mild-moderate side, as I only got a bunch of whiteheads and blackheads with only a couple of big red zits that I could control with some benzoyl peroxide. Last summer, right before I started college, my acne got significantly worse. I'd only had acne on my cheeks, temples, and nose, but it suddenly spread like crazy, covering my forehead and neck. My cheeks and nose are fairly clear now, but my temples, forehead, and neck are COVERED with acne (I have, however, been lucky enough to not get any cysts - I thnk). After trying pretty much everything the past two years (retin-a, tazorac, doxycycline, minocycline, dan's regimen, etc.) my derm finally prescribed me accutane after seeing how bad my acne had gotten. I also have extremely sensitive skin that scars VERY easily, so I'll probably be left with a ton of dark spots if my acne does clear sad.gif.

I hate my life right now, all I do everyday is stay glued in my dorm room doing absolutely nothing. I've totally withdrawn myself from people and don't pick up calls and stopped going on AIM... I'm hoping accutane will clear me up and help me regain my self confidence and life.

Anyways, I plan to post at least once a week. Any advice or suggestions you guys have for me regarding accutane is definately appreciated.