Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Guest Craigems

Supplements and Acne: Creatine.

Guest Craigems

Okay well I was asked by someone (Arpazia) to do some information in relation to sports supplements and their relation if any to Acne. Well i've been doing lots of research into these areas because i'm studying Sports Nutrition at Uni, and i wanna help those guys who wanna lift weights without breaking out as a result of certain supplements. (being an avid Gym Junkie myself)

First Supplement I was interested in, and it seems a bit mixed in opinion whether it causes acne or not. Personally i think some supplements MAY help with some other factors increase your acne as i personally have experienced and experimented with myself in regards to this.

OKAY CUT THE CRAP HERE'S THE VERDICT ON CREATINE

As a result in research in this field i have read many different ways people think creatine might cause Acne. (Non of this is definate and not medically proven BUT is highly likely)

Advantages of taking Creatine short term:

1. Build mass quickly

2. Lift heavier objects quicker than normal

3. Best thing safest thing to take before having to take some sort of steroids.

Disadavantages

1. Hightens the level of Testosterone in your body. - Testosterone is proven to play some role in acne, and those with higher levels tend to get more acne. Now if your an Acne sufferer, more testosterone in your body isnt probably the best thing your are after at this time.

2. Dehydration of the muscles - Creatine takes the water from body fluids and the skin which in turn is absorbed into the muscles to replenish the muscle tissue. This allows the athlete to recuperate from workouts more quickly, Yet leaving the skin more oily as a result of the skin trying to put moisture back into the skin.