Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
snowwhite

finally on roaccutane

Well, I am totally new to this message board. Please be patient with me, as I will probably post things in the wrong place etc etc for a while (I hope not, but I am just warning you all ahead of time). I have been reading up on all the posts/regimes of so many of you for the last few weeks now, and have decided to take the plunge and sign up eusa_clap.gif

So, where do I start.....I am on Day 20 (or around that....)....but I guess I should give you a little history first........

I am probably one of the older members here.....29 (YIKES !!!! Does that sound old or what ? ) In the last 15 or so years I have suffered with acne. At the age of 14 or so, it wasn't too serious, but it gradually worsened....hormones...I blame HORMONES cry.gif

I tried antibiotics, topical solutions, dietary changes, Diane -35 (for over 10 yrs or more).....and even Zenmed (which helped for about 3 months, and then I seemed to develop a resistance to it).............and now, here I am .....ROACCUTANE. Finally.

Anyway, I can relate to so much that I have read on these boards.....the frustration, the anxiety, the anger etc .....

Here I am Day 20....and most of my face has improved...except I have one mother of all cysts/boils or whatever you want to call IT.....on my chin (kinda hard to hide). This is the nature of my acne though - cystic - particularly on my chin.........so awful, so difficult to deal with........and so painful. I have the biggest one of my life on my chin, and I am seriously hoping that this is it...the initial breakout .....because if i get another one like this, I am not venturing out until they clear up a bit. Other side-effects so far are: dry lips, dry eyes and a bit of muscle pain in my lower back and legs.....but nothing serious.

Thanks to everyone for posting and making me feel that I am not alone...and that there is hope for a cure for my terrible skin.........