Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Mighty Siding

Question about Dryness

I started using the regimen a couple of days ago and I've been having problems with dryness around the sides of my mouth, and even with moisturizer, it's still a bit painful there. Will my skin get more accustomed to the dryness and eventually become less dry when using benzoyl peroxide? 

That problem should go away over time as long as you use a good moisturizer, but many people notice that the Acne.org moisturizer doesn't help that much with very dry skin. The only thing that seems to work consistently is an ingredient in some moisturizers called urea. One moisturizer known to work well for Acne.org regimen users who suffer from this problem (the one I've been recommending for a few years) is this one (not sold in the US - you'll have to order online from Canada or the UK (Canadian version shown below)):
Capture.PNG
Note: I think this is now under the name Repair instead of "Replenishing."

If you're in the US and would rather buy something locally, there is a new urea moisturizer by CeraVe, although I haven't tried this one and don't know of any regimen users who have:
Capture2.PNG

Good luck, and please let me know if you have any questions! :)

Regards,
Control Panel

I bought and used the Eucerin 5% Urea face cream today, and when I did, I had an unpleasant burning sensation around my mouth for a bit until it subsided. This also happened when I used the regimen moisturizer. This doesn't happen with the other parts of my face so how come it's worse around the mouth area? 

17 hours ago, Mighty Siding said:

I had an unpleasant burning sensation around my mouth for a bit until it subsided.

This is probably because of the combination of BP and moisturizer (rather than the moisturizer alone).

This also happened when I used the regimen moisturizer.