Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Posted (edited)

Hello everyone this is my first time writing on a forum like this so i really hope i get a response! So 5 days ago, i was prescribed Estelle-35ED by a dermatologist. The doctor and pharmacists I spoke to told me that there was no reason for me to be getting new pimples while I was on the pill. However, I have been noticing pimples around my chin and jawline area which is an area of my skin i am not prone at all to getting pimples except for the occasional one or two sometimes when im on my period. But the morning after I took estelle i developed an extremely painful blind pimple under the skin on my chin and am starting to get more and more pimples around my chin and jaw. I have also noticed more tiny pimples on my forehead and cheeks, (I had a flare up of cheek acne that was starting to go away but when I started the pill, more pimples seem to be surfacing on the same area) Furthermore, I have cut out all actives from my skincare regimen and even my face cleanser and have only stuck to moisturiser because of the fact that ive damaged my moisture barrier and am cutting out all actives till i repair my barrier. I guess what im asking is, is it normal to break out when ur on the pill and how long did it take for ur skin to clear on the pill. Also is it alright for me to take spearmint tea while im on the pill! PS the area where im extremely prone to breakouts is my forehead

Edited by tasmiah.mahmud

Estelle

You may have fungal acne.

Birth control pills (can) cause fungal acne. The acne outbreaks on your skin are most likely fungal acne caused by taking the birth control pills. 

Fungal acne is usually cystic.

If you can, I suggest that you STOP taking the birth control pills as they are probably causing the acne outbreaks.

Also do the following -