Notifications
Clear all

HELP

MemberMember
(@leadclear)

Posted : 03/24/2018 5:35 pm

Hi,

Ive never started/posted on a forum before, so thought I would give it a try.

Basically, Ive had acne since I was 11-12 years old. When I was 14, it got pretty bad, so I eventually went to the derm a couple years later and they proscribed me aczone. Ive been using it for almost 2 years and my forehead/temples/(upper)cheeks are completely clear. HOWEVER my chin will just not stop breaking out. I feel like my chin has never been clear and cant even remember what it used to look like. I get cysts a lot and used to just get them before my period, but now they come more frequently. I also get these little bumps that are skin colored and seem harmless but they eventually turn into whiteheads. I also break out a lot on my lower left cheek near my jaw and sometimes along my upper/lower jaw on both sides.

Im 98.9% sure this is hormonal acne. Ive been on soo many forums and have read so much. I know that you have to treat acne from within, its not just a superficial concept. It still bothers me how some people, evenderms, areso naive and believe that its not internal and only an external problem. I actually was prescribed birth control a few months ago and its just been sitting on my shelf because Ive been so apprehensive about taking it. I know it may help your skin short-term but in the long run like when you get off of it I know your skin goes crazy and I just want to do whats best for my skin in in the long run, even though its tempting.