Acne.org
Search In
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
wza

Wza's Accutane Log

Starting this a bit late.. hehe

I'm at the two week mark and figure I should discuss my acne history briefly and recap the past two weeks:

Acne runs in my father's genes and I certainly inherited them. I am half taiwanese half mixed european therefore I believe my skin situation is worse than my dad's was because I have ridiculously oily skin coupled with significant facial and body hair. Anyway I've had acne since freshman year of highschool (im now a freshman in college) and it was never really THAT bad; at the time tho it was bad to me and after bouncing from one derm to another and trying Differin, Retin A, BP, A few different antibiotics and various herbal/diet remedies I finally found something that worked: minocycline. For about six months of senior year and summer I was relatively clear. Everything was looking up, and I thought acne was a thing of the past after I had graduated from highschool. Big mistake.

Soon after arriving at college my face began breaking out with cysts and numerous, painful, extremely red lesions. What could it be? Stress, the shitty food, the antibiotic failing, lack of vitamin supplementation, the shitty living conditions? All these questions ran through my head. I tried b5 for about two months and wasn't seeing much of a difference, so like so many other people here I went on accutane as a last ditch effort to get my face clear and get my life back.

First couple days on accutane I didn't really notice too much.

Around day 3-4 lips, skin were drier, acne being pushed to the surface at a faster pace.

Days 5-10 face is looking terrible with a lot of white heads, dying cysts, hyperpigmentation. Guess this the infamous "initial breakout"; it sounds good in writing as it is bringing everything out, but when it actually happens you want to shoot yourself.